Each year, there are more than 10 million victims of domestic violence in the United States. Commonly believed, only men afflict violence upon women.
This is vastly untrue. Domestic violence is something that affects people of all ages, races, genders, ethnicities, sexual orientations, and abilities.
If convicted in North Carolina, you could be faced with some seriously severe domestic violence penalties. Here is everything you need to know about domestic violence charges and penalties in North Carolina.
North Carolina law states that crimes are considered domestic violence when the perpetrator has a personal relationship with the victim.
These personal relationships include:
- Current or former spouses
- Parents of the same child
- Family members or blood relatives
- Persons of the opposite sex who are living with you or have lived with you
- Current or former household members
- Persons acting as a parent to a minor child
- Persons of the opposite sex who are in a dating relationship or have been in a dating relationship
Domestic Violence Defined
The state of North Carolina defines domestic violence as one of several acts of violence that occur between individuals in a personal relationship. These crimes can be broken into misdemeanor and felony offenses.
Here are the misdemeanor crimes considered as domestic violence in North Carolina:
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Stalking (in some situations, this can be considered a felony)
- Attempt to cause bodily harm to someone
- Harassing someone to the point of emotional distress
- Assault in the presence of a child
- Tormenting, terrifying repeated behavior
- Assault by inflicting serious injury
- Violation of a protective order (in some situations, this can be considered a felony)
- Making someone afraid of their own life or their family’s life
Here are the felony offenses considered as domestic violence in North Carolina:
- Committing any sexual offense
- Non-fatal strangulation
Domestic Violence Penalties
It is entirely dependent upon the prosecutor as to whether the perpetrator will be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. Based on the decision, the defendant can face a slew of various punishments.
If you are faced with a misdemeanor domestic violence charge in North Carolina, penalties include:
- Up to 150 days in jail
- Anger management courses
- Violence prevention programs
- Community service
- Restitution to the victim(s)
If you are charged with a domestic violence felony offense, punishments can vary. Typically, felonies carry a long period of time in either jail or prison and higher payment of a fine.
Here’s What You Should Do
Domestic violence in North Carolina is not taken lightly. Those charged with domestic violence can face a variety of life-altering punishments.
Arrested for domestic violence in Greenville, NC? No need to worry – bail bondsmen are available 24 hours a day to assist with all arrests of felony or misdemeanor charges, and can post bail within 30 minutes of your arrest.
If you or someone you know has been charged with domestic violence in Greenville, NC, we are the team for you.